Questions from a newb/potential patient

Welcome to the Oregon Cryonics forum
BRuss

Questions from a newb/potential patient

Post by BRuss »

Hello. I have no background in medicine or cryonics, so please forgive me if I'm wildly off base with any of this, but I am strongly considering the process for the relatively near future and will probably base my decision upon the results of my speculation:

1. I am fundamentally uninterested in the preservation of those qualia that make me "me" - memories, identity, personality, etc. (I'd rather be a semi-sapient chatbot than nothing). I am solely after the continuity of perception in whatever form. I further have zero interest in biological resurrection of any kind. Accordingly, I believe aldehyde (which to my understanding fuses the connectomes that make the personality possible) is the best solution for me.

2. I have no long term faith in the stability either in any of the extant cryonics firms or in society writ large. The traditional cryofreezing process, it seems to me, is highly dependent upon a specialized chain of relationships (the continuance of liquid nitrogen production, electricity etc.) I don't trust. This again inclines me towards a simple aldehyde bath.

3. It's profoundly speculative and possibly silly, but I would like to be stored for the longest time possible - thousands of years. I'm uninterested in being awoken into anything like or directly descended from current society, cyberpunk futures and the like. For me, it's postbiology or bust. As I understand it, again, an aldehyde pickling is probably better suited for this than a more "traditional" cryopreservation.